Helping businesses and the community grow and prosper.

Athena Committee


Download the 2019 Nomination Form

The ATHENA Award is presented to one exceptional individual who has achieved excellence in her/his business or profession, has served the community in a meaningful way, and has assisted women in reaching their full leadership potential.

The ATHENA Award, started in Lansing, Michigan in 1982, is presented in hundreds of cities in the United States and Canada. The award takes the form of a hand-cast bronze sculpture symbolizing the strength, courage, and wisdom of the recipient. Slidell believes in the values underlying the ATHENA Foundation’s philosophy of incorporating the talent and expertise of women into the leadership of our businesses, our communities, and our government. The Spirit of the ATHENA Award program is captured in a quotation from Plato. “What is honored in a country will be cultivated there.” By honoring exceptional leaders, others will be encouraged to excel.

In 2011, the East St. Tammany Chamber also added the ATHENA Young Professional Leadership Award. This award honors emerging women leaders who demonstrate excellence, creativity and initiative in her business or profession, provides valuable service to improve the quality of life for others in her community and clearly serves as a role model for young women both personally and professionally.

Past Athena Leadership Award Recipients

1989 Carol Wolfram 2008 Brenda Case
1990 Gilda Perkins 2009 Mary DuBuisson
1991 Patricia Hedges 2010 Sylvia Stanton Black
1992 Judy Wood 2011 Sharon Newton
1993 Marilyn Faust 2012 Tara Ingram Hunter
1995 Stephanie Schedler 2013 Kim Harbison
1996 Dr. Joan Archer 2014 Kathy Lowrey
1997 Suzanne Parsons Stymiest 2015 Laurie Jugan
2004 Lydia Alford 2016 Kelly Rodriguez
2005 Pearl Williams 2017 Kim Bergeron
2006 Irma Cry 2018 Ellen Lamarque
2007 Dr. Jeanne Reeves 2019



Past ATHENA Young Professional Leadership Award Recipients

2011 Linda  K. Larkin
2012 Dionne Graham
2013 S. Michele Blanchard
2014 Amanda Hover
2015 Kristen Stanley-Wallace
2016 Shasta Leininger
2017 Robin J Marquez
2018 Carrie Calvin


Nominations are accepted at the East St. Tammany Chamber of Commerce. For more information on nomination forms and criteria, click the appropriate links below or email